SA Legislation

Smoke alarm maintenance is governed by both State and Federal legislation and any person who does not comply with the relevant legislation is guilty of an offence. Landlords who fail to take every practical step to ensure the safety of their tenants can face a multitude of unpleasant and unwanted consequences that, with the right guidance, can be easily avoided. As a Property Manager, Landlords entrust you with one of their greatest investments, which is a sizeable responsibility to shoulder. Here at Smoke Alarm Solutions, we aim to ease the burden in ensuring that your properties are compliant. Simply and efficiently.

Federal Legislation 

Landlords must ensure that their rental property is properly fitted with the required number of working smoke alarms, complying with the Australian Standard (3786:2015), and that they are installed as outlined in the Building Code of Australia (BCA) part This legislation is applicable to all states of Australia.

State Legislation

The Development Act 1993 requires smoke alarms must be installed on every storey, they must be located between each part of the dwelling containing bedrooms and the remainder of the dwelling. Smoke alarms must also be installed in any hallway leading to the bedrooms. Landlords must comply with smoke alarm legislation in all residential rental properties including detached houses, villa units, sole occupancy units, guest houses and hostels.

Smoke Alarm Types

The type of smoke alarm you require depends on when you purchased your home or the age of your home;

  • For homes or residential rental properties that are purchased before 1 February 1998 you are required to fit a replaceable battery powered smoke alarm.
  • For homes or residential rental properties purchased on or after 1 February 1998, regulation 76B requires a smoke alarm (or smoke alarms) to be fitted within six months from the day on which the title is transferred and be either a 240 volt, mains-powered smoke alarm or a 10-year life, non-replaceable, non-removable, permanently connected battery powered smoke alarm.
  • For homes or residential rental properties built on or after 1 January 1995 the Building Code of Australia requires a 240 volt, mains powered smoke alarm.

Smoke Alarm Solutions is Australia's leading provider
of smoke alarm services to the real estate industry.